Tactical Technology

Tactical Technology no date

Technology can be both a blessing and a curse. Kids tend to be early adopters while some parents lag behind . . .sometimes so much that they often give up. Are you able to manage your family’s online activities effectively and completely? In this session, we’ll walk you through some very tactical ways to make technology safe for your family. Not only will you learn how to set family rules, but also how to block, filter, limit, and monitor all the devices in your home.

Presented by Dave Carl. Click here to download the .pdf of the presentation slides.

2 thoughts on “Tactical Technology

  1. Below is a list of links from the presentation:

    Links for Smartphones:
    iPhone http://www.iphoneforums.net/
    Galaxy Smartphone http://forums.androidcentral.com/samsung‐galaxy-s5/

    Links for Tablets:
    iPad http://www.ipadforums.net/
    Galaxy Tab http://www.thegalaxytabforum.com/

    Other Related Links:
    Bluecoat K9 Web Browser for Windows, iOS, OSX and Android http://www1.k9webprotection.com/
    Covenant Eyes http://www.covenanteyes.com/family/
    Net Nanny http://www.netnanny.com
    Windows Family Safety Setup http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/set-up-family-safety
    Internet Safety Project http://www.internetsafetyproject.org
    Sam’s Blog – Learn From Sam http://www.learnfromsam.com/category/tech/cyber-safety/
    Tablets For Kids http://www.tabletsforkidsguide.com
    Common Sense Media http://www.commonsensemedia.org/
    Plugged In http://www.pluggedin.com/

    Other Related Apps
    Mobile Kids https://www.mobilekids.net
    Family Tracker http://www.logsat.com/iPhone/familytracker/
    F-Secure https://itunes.apple.com/app/id529104258
    Sex Offender Search https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/sex-offender-search/id394721194

  2. At the end of each session we discussed a couple applications/service you might want to investigate more to meet your families needs:

    1. Parentkit.co (not com) is an app you install that basically allows you to remote control your kids phone with respect to app access. Basically you go in and set schedules where they have access that you can change at any time from your phone. So if they can only Facebook or Instagram from 7-9 at night, then those disappear into then air as if they don’t exist other hours. Or you can just get on your phone at any time and turn them all off. Click here to read more.

    2. Teensafe.com that will record every text, email, site visit, FB post, phone call, Instagram, photo, etc. and keep it online. This can even be done without you having access to their phone if you know applied, and pw. It’s $14.95, but can be used for all kids in the family. Click here to read more

    3. Covenant Eyes (www.covenanteyes.com) for their phone but more than just internet activity. Another good way to give them rope while protecting them and teaching accountability. Click here to read more.

    4. ATT has a product called Smart Limits. You can manage online and can disable phone and text use under a scheduling function similar to parent kit for the data part. You even get 15 “anytime exceptions” so if they were out past this timeframe or there was an emergency, they always have access to call mom, dad, 911, etc. Click here to read more.

    Thanks, Bo Johnson for your help in providing these options.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *